Brownfield

Behind the bus station is an area of brownfield land. I’m unsure what it was like in it’s previous incarnation. There are cement foundations and rubble around, but no clear signs. It has now been taken over by bindweed, nettles, brambles and other wildflowers. As I got home earlier with it being the last day of school, Amy and Alice had gone out, I went went out for a little explore. I have seen rabbits along one of the paths when out with Alice, but couldn’t take the pram down to explore. So I was hoping to see some more.

The area has had an awful lot dumped in it sadly. The site is littered with scrap metal and polystyrene.

 photo _DSC0463_zpsuwbznsiy.jpg

 photo _DSC0462_zpswsehvhj3.jpg

 photo _DSC0452_zps8bbmeuka.jpg

Despite that the site is a haven for wildlife, even on a grey day like today. The bees were out looking ethereal covered in the pollen of the thistles.

 photo _DSC0442_zpskbugntb4.jpg

 photo _DSC0446_zpsguzmpcgd.jpg

 photo _DSC0448_zpsicxgyiac.jpg

 photo _DSC0449_zpsh8w22nng.jpg

It also provided me with my first sightings of comma butterflies this year. I haven’t seen any on my area. Now I’ve found a site they love. Eight spotted just on a short stretch. I’ve added my sightings to a the Big Butterfly Count along with one small white. It was exciting to see the flash of orange and realise it’s another species I was unaware of within my local area.

 photo _DSC0458_zpscaw8kwqh.jpg

 photo _DSC0461_zpsnwemcpkp.jpg

 photo _DSC0465_zpsiej1089p.jpg

 photo _DSC0472_zpsk2kixvje.jpg

The discovery of the comma’s was a nice discovery during the Big Butterfly Count, so even though I failed to see any rabbits the comma’s made up for it.

I’ve been busy of late, so I’m doing more quick twitter updates for anyone who uses it rather than full blogs. https://twitter.com/Jobasha to follow.

 

3 thoughts on “Brownfield”

Leave a Reply

