30 days of wild: day 30-woodland stop

Today saw the rain hold off for some of the day. At breakfast I could see more of the birds venturing out again. The housemartins were swooping for bugs. The blue tits were hopping in the trees. Blackbirds were pecking in the wet soil. While I don’t mind being out in rain it brought a greater variety of life out for the last day of this years 30 days.

Today I wasn’t at school as I was attending training on Ofsted inspections. So I got a bit more time with Amy and Alice before heading out. On the way I caught up on the RSPB podcast. This months was discussing project puffin. The RSPB is looking for photos of puffins feeding to track what their eating.

The Ofsted training was a fairly unwild activity taking place in a sterile new build academy. The room we were in fitted the cream song.

In the white room with black curtains. 

It wasn’t the nicest room to spent a day, a featureless white expanse, but the training was useful. I am more prepared for the Ofsted menace. It did however finish early as we had a short dinner and few breaks.

As I was out early I stopped in one of the laybys for a quick pause to take in the wildlife. It is a nice spot I’ve walked properly before, but today just pulled in and took a minute to look round. There are a few picnic tables then a path made from the old railway line.

 photo IMG_1405_zpsmavt7mnd.jpg

The path is surrounded by trees with gaps every so often to see the fields.
 

 photo IMG_1412_zps22tvtyqt.jpg

The path is lined by wildflowers. It’s remarkable how much life one flower can support. Just a single buttercup out on its own was supporting a wealth of pollen beetles.

 photo IMG_1422_zpshk269gwp_edit_1498846599944_zpskiqab6yy.jpg

Cow parsley thistles were swarmed with bees and hoverflies and a range of snails around the leaves.

 photo IMG_1410_zpsivx42yzu_edit_1498852135135_zpsrgno5va6.jpg

 photo IMG_1425_zpsuy3vzqkj_edit_1498846666937_zps6pdfkjuf.jpg

 photo IMG_1420_zps8frvomei_edit_1498846626865_zpsqeuybby8.jpg

Red admirals criss crossed the path. I struggled for a photo. They landed on my head, my shoulder and briefly on my hand, but couldn’t get a photo. With a little patience I managed a shot with the wings open and closed.

 photo IMG_1434_zpsgjrbqcy9.jpg

 photo IMG_1418_zpsqm8o47sw.jpg

Then returning to the car I spotted something amazing. Something from the land that time forgot. A beast at almost three inches. From the field guides I think it’s possible a common hawker. Although looking at I can’t say its something I see commonly. Damselflies I see regularly, but fantastic beasts of this size are not a daily occurrence. 

So thank you 30 days for this last currioisity. If it wasn’t for the 30 days I may not of stopped for a brief pause and seen these wonders. The lessons from 30 days, to continue to enjoy nature, will carry on through the year.

One thought on “30 days of wild: day 30-woodland stop”

Leave a Reply

