30 days of wild; day 25-garden watch and a wild drink

Today I have been sat working in the kitchen with the patio doors open working to check over my classes evidence for Local Authority moderation tomorrow. I decided while doing this I’d keep a tally of visible species. As with the RSPB gardenwatch I’ve only recorded the highest number seen at once.

The work I’ve done trying to make the garden more wildlife friendly over the last year is really showing.

Over a two hour period of putting my head up from my work every so often I’ve seen:

Birds

  • blackbirds 2
  • coal tit 1
  • starlings 6
  • common gull 1
  • sparrows 3
  • pigeon 3
  • jackdaws 3
  • collared dove 1
  • goldfinches 2
  • wren 1
  • long tailed tits 2

 photo _DSC0059_zpskr3upmyp.jpg

 photo _DSC0005_zpsswbsyb4r.jpg

 photo e06989db-3b55-4fb4-92bc-e82636c24f48_zpsud9v1jyb.jpg

 photo 92d36456-3b29-4b19-9748-617d0b171f1e_zpsh4e9w4qw.jpg

 photo _DSC0071_zps2k92akgu.jpg

 photo _DSC0067_zpsgiich8qw.jpg

Bees

    • Carder bee
    • White tailed bumblebee
    • red tailed bumblebee
    • carder bee
    • honey bee

 photo _DSC0030_zpsebr7h5e6.jpg

 photo _DSC0009_zps57zuiumb.jpg

Butterflies

  • Speckled wood
  • Small tortoiseshell
  • Small white

 photo _DSC0036_zpscto3pqkb.jpg

 photo Speckled wood 2_zps3owlfdyh.jpg

 photo Speckled wood_zpsjdgkamfo.jpg

Now most of these species are fairly common to gardens. However these were spotted between about 10 and 11 in the morning. Not a prime time for birding. I wasn’t watching the whole time, so there is a chance there were other species. What this shows is from last year when I moved in the efforts I’ve made are working. Just a small amount of planting and providing homes and food for various wildlife has improved the biodiversity enormously. If everyone contributes that little bit in their garden it all comes together to allow us to coexist in our gardens alongside some spectacular wildlife.

To relax while checking over books I thought I’d try another wild act making a cup of nettle tea. I collected a mug of nettles from the wilderness behind the garden and boiled with 2 cups of water. Once boiled it loses its sting. Nettle tea apparently has many benefits for skin, health and urinary tracts. I can’t comment on that side yet, but it tasted pleasant enough.

 photo _DSC0094_zpsdtl3zxbe.jpg

While collecting nettles I disturbed this rather interesting looking moth. I think it’s a small magpie, but the world of moth identification is a much bigger one than butterflies or birds, so may be wrong.

 photo moth_zpstvn51vaj.jpg

3 thoughts on “30 days of wild; day 25-garden watch and a wild drink”

Leave a Reply

