30 days of wild: Day 22-Great British Wildflower Hunt

To see a world in a grain of sand

And heaven in a wild flower

Hold infinity in the palms of your hand

And eternity in an hour.

William Blake

 

Naturalists love a survey and plantlife have launched their effort, The Great British Wildflower Survey. People have less contact with wildlflowers and know less about them. This survey aims to find out numbers in order to make sure they are still there for future generations.

In my area the police are doing census stops. They pull people over at random and ask questions and do a quick check over of the car. As I had gone through two census points and traffic was slow I stopped in a lay by for a minute to do a count of species spotted. I can identify a small handful of wildflowers, so I’m always happy for projects like this that will teach me more.

There was no shortage of cow parsley.

IMG_1203

Then patches of common ragwort.

IMG_1204

A few tufts of common knapweed covered in pollen beetles.

img_1208.jpg

Patches of herb robert sticking out here and there. This one complete with hoverfly.

IMG_1207

And plenty of white clover, thistles and nettles.

IMG_1209

On my commute I am still enjoying listening to Watership Downs. Nothing too tragic has happened to the main characters, but I feel it’s all about to go downhill for them. Here are some rabbits spotted today. You can just make them out as little dots as I only had my ipad and phone to hand for a photo.

IMG_1213

And a chaffinch that was singing away merrily. Again, sorry for the poor image quality.

IMG_1206

Then back home I’ve seen the goldfinches out lots. They’ve gone from being totally absent to everywhere.

_DSC1580

My results for the Great British Wildlfower Hunt are submitted, so I’ve done my bit for conservation today. Hopefully I’ll pick up the names of a few more species as I go on.

2 thoughts on “30 days of wild: Day 22-Great British Wildflower Hunt”

Leave a Reply

