30 days of wild: day 21-bumps in the night

The last few nights I’ve set up the trail camera hoping to see evidence that the hedgehogs are coming back in the garden with no luck. With the extreme heat I’ve been worried that they might suffer from dehydration. I have water left in various locations around the garden for the use of birds, insects, amphibians and mammals to help during these dry periods, but hedgehogs are quite susceptible to dehydration.

I set up the trail camera with a few hours left of light. It saw a few visitors before nightfall.

Then during the night the first visitor wasn’t the hedgehog, but it was mammalian in nature. It was one of the mice that I believe live under the shed and come out for the bird feed. I keep the bird feed in sealed metal buckets to avoid them eating it all directly, but I can’t stop them from going to the feeders. But it is always nice to see any form of mammal surviving in the garden.

IMAG0041

Then later in the night I’m glad to say the hedgehog was spotted by the trail camera. It hasn’t been drained by the heat. I still love that they visit the garden a year on from discovery. Last year during 30 days I discovered hedgehogs and foxes on the school site. In my new garden I’ve got the hedgehogs, but I will admit to missing the fox sightings. Maybe in the future I’ll see more. For now I’ll enjoy my hedgehog footage.

IMAG0047

 

IMAG0045

4 thoughts on “30 days of wild: day 21-bumps in the night”

Leave a Reply

