30 days of wild: day 13: read a wild book

Day 13 has seen me finish my car audiobook and start a new one. On my commute I like audiobooks. With a one year old my reading time is limited, so audiobooks offer me an alternative. I had been listening to the evolutionary biologist E.O. Wilson’s book Half Earth. The concept of the book is rapidly gaining ground within conservation. It isn’t enough to just save single species. We need to put aside large sections of the Earth for us and biodiversity to have a future. It was an interesting listen, but I wish more ground was covered on how it could be implemented.

BBC podcast on Half Earth concept

E.O. Wilson on podcast 

IMG_1071

Having finished half Earth I decided to move onto another nature book, but this time fiction. I started Watership Downs. Only an hour in and I’m hooked. The introduction was interesting. Richard Adams discussed how the book started as a story to entertain his kids in the car. It was initially rejected as too complicated for the younger audience and older children wouldn’t want to read about rabbits. Time has shown that to be wrong, so there is a good lesson for aspiring children’s authors. Don’t talk down to children. The descriptions of the animals in the book show Richqrd Adams as someone who was a keen naturalist. I think I will enjoy this audiobook a lot.

IMG_1072

On kindle I’m reading Rob Cowen common ground. The book is covering Rob’s forays into edge lands. I’m enjoying it, but keep finding myself comparing it to other books that have covered the same ground.

I also just got Hattie Garlick’s book born to be wild. Hattie is a journalist who has written for the times, the guardian and independent. The book grew out of a blog free our kids. The idea is activities to do with kids that will be free or using common items in your house. It has some super ideas and I particularly like how it has ideas split by seasons. I first heard about it from the RSPB podcast, but only just got it. But just a quick flick makes me think I’ll use it lots.

RSPB podcast

 

IMG_1070

I hope you enjoyed my reading updates. What are you reading? Leave a comment.

5 thoughts on “30 days of wild: day 13: read a wild book”

  1. I am currently listening to Wonderland a year of British wildlife by Brett Westwood and Stephen moss on audiobook and world definitely recommend. I’ll listen to your recommendation too, it’s sounds interesting.

    Like

  2. Just finished Brian Cox’s Forces of Nature – really fascinating but a bit inaccessible for those of us who didnt pay sufficient attention in science o-level classes all those years ago!! Reading a fantastic nature-themed fiction book with my 6 yo at the moment Aubrey & the Terrible Ladybirds by Horatio Clare – addresses lots of serious nature / environmental themes but all wrapped up in a tale of fantasy and adventure 🐞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

