30 days wild 2017: day 8-2 minute beach clean

Today has been a busy day for social media with the UK election. So after putting Alice to bed I headed down to our polling station on the sea front at the Floral Hall. Whichever way you lean politically I hope you had you right say by placing your vote. As it is World Oceans Day I decided I would do a quick stroll along the sea front. I couldn’t make it to an ocean, so the North Sea was my substitute.

_DSC1142Not wanting to waste an opportunity for another wild act I came prepared with litter picker and bin bag to do a 2 minute beach clean. The concept of the beach clean is simple. After a series of storms beaches were left scattered with rubbish. Beach cleans were organised to remove it. Just two minutes gives you time to pick up a remarkable amount of rubbish. If this rubbish isn’t removed it can cause an horrendous amount of damage to marine life. But safety first. Don’t forget to use a litter picker and gloves if handling rubbish. The website offers more safety tips.

_DSC1143

All I did was walk from one set of steps down to the next. Some of the rubbish was literally a few metres from bins. They will of passed the bin to get off the beach where they’ve thrown it. I found polystyrene, a can of cider, plastic wrappers and tin foil left from someone’s picnic.

But for just a quick stroll I cleared a good chunk of rubbish, filled a bin bag and can feel happy with myself for helping on World Ocean Day. The official website are working on an app to share your waste, literally a rubbish idea pardon the pun. Although I’m sure it will actually be quite interesting to see people’s finds.

_DSC1144

Walking home I noticed the clouds were looking particularly attractive. House martins were swooping in large numbers over the road and I felt a great sense of calm from my little nature excursion.

_DSC1148

One thought on “30 days wild 2017: day 8-2 minute beach clean”

Leave a Reply

