30 days wild 2017: day 7-read a wild magazine

Today started early with Alice awake just before 5. This gave time for half of springwatch. I’m enjoying the coverage so far. Though I think I possibly like Brett Westwood on the live updates and unsprung more than the main show.

Looking in the garden the rain had brought out lots of flowers. I have a single bloom on my rather straggly clematis.

IMG_0986

I had a pot of what was meant to be sunflowers. However I think the birds raided it early on and it now has borage growing out of it. So I have accidentally ticked another wild act. Borage is loved by bees and should see lots of visitors.

In work I added some extra feeders to the bird feeder I added yesterday. Already I’ve seen sparrows, starlings, blue tits, pigeons and a pied wagtail investigating the area. We also have house martins swooping over the area, which are nice to see.

IMG_0953

The kids have been stuffing the bug hotel with cut grass and leaves to encourage more bugs to settle in.

IMG_0971.JPG

Then dinner time completed my planned wild act to read a wild magazine. I’d gone with the BBC wildlife magazine, always an enjoyable read. I read the puffins article and part of the orangutan feature. I saw a few books I fancy as future purchases in the review section.

IMG_0972.JPG

Leave a Reply

