A year in review

So it is time to start 30 days wild again and a year on from starting he blog. Alice is now one and a lot has happened over the year. Alice has grown, we moved house and I’ve changed schools for a promotion. So as I get set to start 30 days wild again I’m going to use this blog to look back on the amazing events of the last year.

For the first 30 days I was taking part in the 30 days wild, so every day had some activity. Each day had something good, but here are a few highlights.

My class getting beetles was popular with the children.

The Great British Bee hunt was great fun with the class.

IMG_20160619_100913

Setting up the trail camera at school brought some great footage that amazed the kids.

Untitled

After the 30 days were up my wilding still continued.

By August we had moved home and I’d started the RSPB homes for nature. Amongst the most exciting thing to come from this was the discovery of a visiting hedgehog in the garden.

September saw speckled wood butterflies, giant moths and a moth for Amy.

October saw us take Alice up to Robin Hoods Bay to Alice’s grandads house and a walk down to the seafront.

December saw the garden frosted over and some nice crisp walks and my Christmas present the baby howdah.

January began with people throwing themselves in the cold North Sea. The big garden birdwatch saw a good variety in the garden. We even had a few days of sun to go to the park.

February saw a trip to see the blade, a giant instalment part of the Hull City of culture. Through the month we saw lots of signs of Spring being round the corner.

March saw my birthday, the garden starting to come together and a visit to the wildlife photographer of the year exhibit.

April was a busy month with walks out to the seafront, blossom on trees, lots of butterfly sightings, trips on the North Yorkshire Moors railway and finally starting at my new school with its outdoor area to develop.

April also saw lots of Robins.

May has seen me get stuck into improving my school outdoor classroom.

My own garden is really coming into its own now with lots blooming or set to.

We finished the month with a lovely trip to Wassand Hall where I was happy to photograph rabbits and a fox.

Most exciting of all the year has ended with Alice turning one and learning to walk, opening up a whole new world of adventures.

_DSC0768

_DSC0679

Taking part in 30 days wild set much of this in motion and I’m glad I took part. It taught me to appreciate many daily little pleasures nature provides. That nature contact also enlivens all other areas of life teaching me to appreciate my life, my family, friends and everything I have going for me. I look forward to the next 30 days.

One thought on “A year in review”

Leave a Reply

