Outdoor play

As mentioned previously I have recently got a promotion to a new school. I am now going to be moving back from year one into being an EYFS coordinator. Within my new unit we have provision for two year olds, F1’s (3-4 year olds) and F2’s (4-5 year olds). My job is to oversee the three year groups, but will mainly be working in F2. One of the things I’m looking forward to is developing the outdoor play. The three year groups have their own playground areas that are currently pretty well resourced, but I reckon can still be developed further. But lots of nice areas already established. Anyone who follows the blog knows I care about outdoor learning and these three areas have already made spaces for wildlife and stories, so lots for me to get my teeth into.

The two year old area. They’ve got a slide going down a small slope and under the tarp is a large sand area.

_DSC0236

Water play on the fence.

_DSC0237

A rather good looking mud kitchen.

_DSC0238

Weaved shelters and bug hotels. A nice area for covering to make dens.

The F1 playground.

_DSC0241

A story seating area. A good area for taking the story out.

_DSC0242

Mud kitchen and seating.

_DSC0243

Planters.

_DSC0244

The F2 playground (where I will mainly be).

_DSC0245

A story area again.

_DSC0246

Pathways through weaved tunnels.

_DSC0247

The all important bug hotel.

_DSC0248

Pathways to help with all weathers.

_DSC0249

And the mud kitchen.

_DSC0250

A lot more than I had to work with starting out. It shows how much more significance has been placed into outdoor learning, even in just the last 5 years or so. I’m looking forward to seeing the kids out in it. I’ve no doubt they won’t use any of the areas as adults intended, but that’s part of the course.

2 thoughts on “Outdoor play”

  1. Those are wonderful layouts, and I hope you’ll write about the children playing there. If I were invited to play, I’d make a bee line for the water area on the fence. It drew me like a magnet. If you write about this area again, please have some close-ups. I WANT TO PLAY IN THE WATER!!!!! PLEASE!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

