National Gardening Week

This Easter weekend marks National Gardening Week. As its been the school holiday for me I’ve made some good steps forward with sorting out the garden. I’ve had a bit of help from parents over the week.

_DSC0132
My dad has been working on greening the lawn and it’s now looking a lot better for it. WhenI moved in last Summer it was a sea of dandelions. While I appreciate that dandelions make a great early food source for bees they aren’t nice to walk on. We also have a path behind the garden where I’ve left them to grow. There also appears to be some wild bluebells emerging.


Some of the flowers put in earlier in the year are doing well. The patch of forget me nots I planted in Autumn are doing well and a few have seeded in other spots.

_DSC0127
The foxgloves and hollyhocks are doing well. They got eaten to pieces initially but are now growing better.


These bulbs I planted in Autumn are shooting up. I can’t remember what they were, but lovely leaves. Be a nice surprise seeing what flowers.


My mum turned the apple tree after we cut it back to encourage shaping and growth. It had been a bit neglected but seems to be doing well now.

_DSC0133

We got in two varieties of rosemary and silver mist lavender in the back. With some gravel in the soil for drainage I’m hopeful they’ll take well. A few gardens along the street have good patches of rosemary and lavender, so hopefully do well. There good for both bees and butterflies, which I’d like to attract in. I’ve got quite a lot of plants for bees, but less for butterflies.

_DSC0130

_DSC0131
My parents bought me two hardy fuschias which should look nice when flowering.

On the patio I’ve knocked out one of the unused stone wall planters. Now we’ve got the log burning stove fitted we want to turn this into a seating area and wood store.


The daffodils in the pots on the patio are up to dead heading point so looking to plant up a few other pots with some Summer flowers. I’ve got some night scented flowers recommended for moths and to attract bats. Some poppy seed has gone in the flowerbed.


The seed packet that came from grow wild had grown beyond its pot so my mum split them over the flowerbeds in the front and back garden. There is also some more lavender in the front garden.


The RHS guide to urban gardens was a kindle deal of the day earlier in the week so possibly get some more ideas for the patio there.

And I’ll finish with a few wildlife visitors over the last week.

_DSC0111

_DSC0114

_DSC0116

I’ve moved a bird feeder to the front garden which is seeing plenty of visitors.

_DSC0117

_DSC0118

4 thoughts on “National Gardening Week”

    1. Thanks. The soil is surprisingly good. My last house was all clay rich. This is lovely, worm rich soil. I dug over one border when I moved in last Summer and added leaf mulch and then a layer of bark. Then dug the other border last month. We’re right by the sea, so do get strong salt filled wind that can leave the gardens, particularly the front very dry. But so far most planting gas taken well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

