New beginnings

Yesterday was the last day in my current teaching job. I am moving on for a promotion to be a Foundation Stage coordinator at another school. I’m going to have a steep learning curve, but I’m looking forward to it. The unit has a super outdoor area, which I’m looking forward to developing further. I had a lovely send off. Lots of kind words were said and a selection of very generous presents. I will miss many of the staff and was sad to say bye, but moving onto exciting things.

A hamper filled with sweets and amazon vouchers. So I have enough sweets to keep me going through the stress of taking on a new job. Then between my birthday and these vouchers enough now to buy the camera lens I’ve had my eye on for a while. I haven’t felt I could justify it as a treat for myself, but six years of service at a school I think warrants a special treat. It’s a it’s a mid range telephoto lens that should hopefully allow me to get better close-ups of the wildlife I see out and about.

_DSC1124

They also bought me an enormous pork pie, which I started on today making an rather nice ploughman’s lunch.

_DSC1126

It is the first day of the holiday and the sun has come out for it. Alice has been eager to be out. We had a quick stroll out around town visiting the school where there was a craft fair on. I bought some tasty chutney to go with my pie. We had a wander down to the beach. It was looking rather spectacular today with no clouds to be seen.

_DSC1125

So with two weeks off I have a chance to sort out a few more things in the house. Want to look at clearing some junk. Sorting storage. Get a few things planted in the garden. Over the next week we are having a log burning stove fitted, so lots of dust for a few days. Should be worth it though to sit back in the warmth watching the flames in winter. Then in the second week we’ve got a trip planned on the North Yorkshire Moors railway. A stunning spot and one of my favourite areas to visit.

_DSC1127

_DSC1128

2 thoughts on “New beginnings”

  1. What thoughtful presents! I drooled at the pork pie, thinking it would be almost impossible to find something like that in the states. Good luck with all your projects and the new job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

