Christmas Diary

Well I hope everyone out there has had lovely Christmas days. Me and Amy have been full of cold, so plans for going to carols Christmas Eve and church Christmas day were dropped. So Christmas Eve we had a quiet afternoon, watched part of Scrooged then tried to give Amy time for a nap.

Then we let Alice have one present to gauge ow long present opening would take.  Not a bad grip on the paper. She has been highly amused by the crinkly paper throughout this first experience of opening presents. She would happily of just sat and rolled in the paper for the day.

_dsc0697

Her first present was a lovely Usborne book of garden sounds. It has lots of different touch pads which make different garden sounds. She was amused by the sounds and flaps. The usborne range of nature books for babies is lovely with lots of nice touchy feely sensory parts.

_dsc0699

We then lit the candle so Santa knew to come to our house.

_dsc0702

Alice seems to of decided Christmas is a serious business.

_dsc0707

She slept well giving Santa the chance to deliver over night without interruptions. A brief wake up at 1, then 4, then stayed down until after 7.

She had a nice gradual wake up and then opened presents. Haven’t gone overboard this year as her awareness is low of what is going on. But lots of friends and family have given lovely gifts.

She sat looking through her colour book.

_dsc0720

_dsc0721

She liked my present of a mug with her face on best though. Which I have to say was a rather nice present.

_dsc0715

We worked through breakfast and then headed out to my parents house. Alice had a snooze on the way.

_dsc0727

_dsc0732

_dsc0736

_dsc0739

My mum and dad had prepared a suitable feast for the day.

_dsc0748

My Parents, sister, bro in law and nephews enjoying their dinner.

_dsc0750

After dinner got the nephews out to the skate park. We were going to try their new drone, but needed more charge.

_dsc0753

After opening presents with the rest of the family we played pass the sprout, a festive version of pass the parcel.

_dsc0755

_dsc0756

Then back to the table for pudding.

_dsc0757

_dsc0758

_dsc0759

 

All in all a nice day with family. I’m grateful to be surrounded by very loving people for Alice to grow up around people who care about her and adore her. Despite mine and Amy’s colds we can go to bed knowing our daughter is loved and for that I’m thankful.

Going back to the original purpose of this blog to share nature updates I will share some of my nature related presents.

I now have a good set of Collins guides to different aspects of British nature, to add to the couple I had already. David Attenborough’s planet Earth II, which I will enjoy watching again and again, then later on making Alice watch.

_dsc0761

A guide to ladybirds of the UK.

_dsc0762

A bat box to go up outside. We do have a number of bat species in the area, so hopefully get some nesting further down the line.

_dsc0760

I am very grateful for all I have. My life is full of joy, I am surrounded by wonderful people and I am happy Alice is growing up with plenty of happiness in her life. I had been feeling lacking in Christmas cheer and a disconnection with the whole affair, but I am glad to of had the day with family. Spirits raised.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Diary”

Leave a Reply

