Highways and byways

I made a start on my RSPB nature plan yesterday. Currently I’m decorating the new house before moving in. Over the day I took a couple of breaks from painting to do a few gardening jobs.

I took the saw to the back gate to make a gap for hedgehogs and frogs as part of the highways and byways activity. This will give smaller animals a chance to get in and out of the garden past an otherwise impenetrable fence for many animals.The garden is currently pretty wild with overgrown grass and weeds filling the borders, so no issue with ground cover currently. We got some ivy giving cover along the back fence. Next year I think I’ll try and get some climbers maybe honeysuckle along the side fences.

_DSC0149
A hole for hedgehogs.

While I’m decorating I put up a few quick coconut bird feeders and a jar feeder before I move house properly and bring the bird feeders across. The new house is by the sea, so seen lots of gulls, but few garden birds so far. A few pigeons, but nothing else, so be interested to see if I get much else coming in.

_DSC0145_DSC0146_DSC0147

And a bird house above the compost heap where it’s got a bit of cover from a bush.

_DSC0148

Not much, but it’s a start.

5 thoughts on “Highways and byways”

Leave a Reply

