Home for nature

As I prepare for moving house I want to plan the new garden for being as wildlife friendly as possible. My current garden has improved over the three years I’ve been in, but this time want to get more going from the off.

The RSPB have a set up to make your own personal plan for nature

You put in details of time, garden type and who will be doing it and it gives activities to suit.

My plan:

Open a hedgehog cafe

Make a butterfly banquet

Open a bird cafe

Create highways and byways for nature

Sow a poppy patch

Build a bug hotel

I reckon these are all quite achievable. The poppy patch won’t be until next year, but I can clear a space for that ready. The garden is already quite nicely set with a number of good bee and butterfly attracting bushes, a compost heap, so I can build on that. I’d like to get some trellis up for some ivy for helping the highways and biways and give a bit more cover on the fence. Going to have a reread of the wildlife garden.

In other news the petition to restore the climate change department is making steady progress. At time of writing this blog it is just shy of 2000 signatures. Please continue to support, sign if you haven’t and continue sharing.

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/161489

My facebook page promoting the petition and other environmental stories is rapidly gaining support up to 61 likes in a few days. I can account for almost 200 signatures on the petition through there, which with my low social media presence I can be proud of my contribution.

https://www.facebook.com/UKclimatematters

Twitter presence is currently very little, but going to work on promoting the petition more that way as well.

https://twitter.com/Jobasha

 

_DSC0052

 

7 thoughts on “Home for nature”

Leave a Reply

