Today is sponsored by the letter B

I’m starting today with something for teachers. I received my confirmation that I will be sent a free bulb pack from http://uk.bulbs4kids.com/ Bulbs for kids is encouraging children to get some hands on nature experience planting and growing their own bulbs.

The kit contains:

  • 600 flower bulbs (200 tulips, 100 crocuses, 200 daffodils and 100 grape hyacinths)
  • 35 Bulbs4Kids instruction booklets
  • 1 teacher’s manual
  • 10 gardening trowels
  • 15 plant markers

 

All for free. So if you are a teacher sign up now. Only one set per school, but that is plenty of bulbs to spread between year groups. As I plant different flowers and vegetables each year with my class this is looking great for getting what I need for free. If nothing else I’ll have a collection of trowels for future gardening and sand tray activities.

logo

Going away from teaching I’ve started to prepare for the big butterfly count. I’ve downloaded the app.It logs location, type of location and then what species of butterflies you’ve sighted. Seems like a good replacement for the void now the Great British Bee Hunt is over.

Now need to brush up on butterflies. Dug out the National Trust butterflies guide and the older E.B. Ford butterflies. My knowledge of butterflies is a bit rusty. I listened to Patrick Barkham’s the butterfly isles last month, so hopefully taking part in the count will build on that knowledge.

And a photo from earlier in the week I spotted another Amy Johnson moth.

_DSC0050_DSC0051

 

Leave a Reply

