Day 30+1 or -364 days-Staying wild

Well the day after the official end of the  30 days of wild sees me reflecting on the month and the year ahead. Obviously for most people who are involved in nature this is a life long obsession, for all the year, not just a month. For those who are enjoying nature note from this month hopefully they will continue. But for me my social media and blog level will undoubtedly drop from the more intense daily posts. I have loved being part of the Facebook group. My wall has been flooded with beautiful and amazing photos all month. This was a welcome distraction from the news this month. There have been some wonderful heart warming stories of people re-engaging with nature, people tackling depression with exploring nature more, people sharing their super activities with their children. This simple idea from the Wildlife Trust offers so much for so little. While I have bought some new seed, bird food and a trail cam. Most of the positive experiences from 30 days cost nothing, just taking the time to look and appreciate what is there already. So thank you Wildlife Trust.

Looking to the future I have lots of ideas for next year for when Alice is a year old and can start having more involvement with the 30 days.

I am continuing to develop my knowledge of the outside world with a free course on soil.

https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/soils

Within my job as a teacher it has made me consider what I want to teach my class. I’ve always placed a high focus on outdoor play, but I want to take this further over the next year. I was put through quite a few forest school training courses when I first qualified, but haven’t used these skills enough, so need to rectify that.

Post EU referendum there are many environmental issues that will need to be addressed ad EU regulations are dropped. So I pledge to continue efforts to keep this world full of natural beauty so my daughter gets to experience it herself.

Looking back on the month I think my highlight has to be watching the foxes. Watching these animals has given me endless joy. I move house next month to Hornsea, a little town on the North East coast. So the next year will see more of exploring coastal nature. I’m also closer to Bempton Cliffs and Flamborough Head, so next year will aim for puffin photos.


One thought on “Day 30+1 or -364 days-Staying wild”

Leave a Reply

