Day 13-Foxes

Day 13 saw the foxes on the school playing field very active. It had been a wet drab morning, but in the afternoon it had cheered up a bit and my class had got out for PE. When we came out the sports coach called us over warning us to come quietly. Over by the bushes were 3 young foxes. My class lay flat on the playground and spent the first 20 minutes of their PE lesson watching the foxes play fighting. The children loved how the foxes played just like them. One child came up to tell me they must be carnivores with their teeth. A very proud moment for me that a lesson had actually gone in. A few of the children had a few misconceptions about foxes. One boy told me they’re as dangerous as wolves. So we might need to examine this concept a bit further. Sadly no photos as my camera is in the repair shop, so I am down to a compact for the rest of the month.

On the subject of foxes there is a new book about documenting foxes in Britain. Foxes unearthed is currently very cheap on kindle £1.99.

I have also been having problems with several of the more blood thirsty children enjoying crushing snails. As it has been wet over each night there are a lot around. I’ve started taking some photos (on the aforementioned compact)  to map out the wildlife and start looking at how we can take care of all of it. I’m going to share them with the kids tomorrow morning, then look at letting them try to photograph them over the day.

DSCF3881DSCF3882

One thought on “Day 13-Foxes”

Leave a Reply

